The Footwear Question

A high school teacher, one who I very much admired, once told me; “The first thing people notice about you is your shoes.”

No truer words have ever been spoken. No matter the situation or circumstance, people will always check out what you have on you feet. More so then any other article of clothing, be they dress shoes, sandals, or snowboard boots, I’m always willing to shell out ready money for the right pair.

So when I began to contemplate this new business model I spent a fair amount of time thinking about what would constitute the best shoe for the job.

Since all my bikes have the type of pedals that require cleats so that the shoes ‘connect’ to the pedal, I’ve had to have a pair for riding and a pair for ‘work’. I’m certain most cycling commuters have the same issue. You want the cycling shoes for the efficiency they provide, but require a different pair for the work environment.

For the most part I’ve worn a ten year old pair of first generation Shimano BMX/Downhill shoes for the ride to work and then changed into a pair of dress shoes that I keep under my desk once I get to the office, but last week when I did the home tour with my new client I knew I’d have to try something different.

When you’re showing houses, most sellers want you and the buyers to take off your shoes. The little white tent signs by the door are ubiquitous in the real estate world, so you learn quickly that you need a nice pair of loafers so that you don ‘t have to waste precious time lacing and unlacing your shoes at every home you show.

So on Friday I rode to the showing appointments in my fancy black dress loafers.

You might think that pedaling the low profile SPD pedals on leather soles would be a challenge,

but honestly, I didn’t have much of a problem. I’m adaptable like that.

I did however feel a bit silly. My client is a product rep and well versed in bike gear, and I was a bit self conscious. Cyclists can be a judgemental lot.

So I decided I was going to have to source out a pair of shoes that would do double duty. Something that would let me snap into my pedals and still slip off easy while showing homes.

And of course, they’d have to look good.

The first thing that came to mind were Fluevogs.

Back in the day, Mr. Fluevog was cool enough to produce a pair of his classic shoes with the Angel Sole that were SPD compatible. I bought a blue pair and rode them until they fell apart. I cried when they were forced into retirement, as they had been discontinued and were irreplaceable.

At the insistence of good friends I did a search on eBay, but alas the only pair out here in the world were second hand and a size 6. Not even close.

Time for something else. And keep in mind, even though I’m an adaptable chap, I’m terribly fussy about what I’ll put on my feet.

It’s times like these that I wonder what we ever did before Al Gore invented the internet. It took all of five minutes of searching to come across what seem to be the perfect pair.

The Franco Cycling Shoe by Knog

Not only are they handsome and SPD compatible, they’re LOAFERS. The little marketing blurb even states that; “You will not need to take a second pair to work”.

I fell in that obsessive kind of love that must be addressed with great immediacy.

I called up the company, talked to some guy named Charlie and sure enough they have them in my size.

Done and done. Now I just hope they fit.

Next up, an new trailer.

 

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    rich said,

    crossmax,
    here is the website for the wool knickers. do it!
    http://www.bicyclefixation.com/shop.html
    btw, great new blog and great new bus stop signage!

  2. 2

    Hailstone said,

    Great new blog.

    Howabout a tandem for showig houses… or a rickshaw with advertising on the side?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

