I Cannot Tell A Lie

I Drove a Car this weekend.

The Grass Van

For the past several years my next door neighbor has participated in the annual Minneapolis Art Car Parade sponsored by Intermedia Arts.

The Grass Van has taken on several different themes. Once a ten foot pagoda was mounted on top, another year a hula hut with a half dozen hula-ing children made it’s way down the street. Every year a number of neighborhood children get to be in this unique event atop a vehicle that most people remember fondly, including my own kids.

This year I got to get into the act.

I sat behind the wheel of the Grass Van, sweating myself silly as the windows were covered, doing slow S-turns down 28th St. while my neighbor operated a giant wolf puppet from a trailer towed behind, doing battle with a gun-toting Dick Cheney.

 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

That’s our illustrious Mayor, R.T. Rybak, posing with Dick, who he mercilessly taunted as we made our way to Lyndale Ave.

Art is Politics.

Leave a Reply

