Rachel Dow’s Memorial

Words cannot express just how moving last week’s ceremony celebrating Rachel’s life was.

I was expecting something akin to an Irish wake.

Instead I walked into one of the most collective expressions of raw emotion and grief I have ever felt.

As I’ve mentioned before, I didn’t know Rachel personally. She was one of my ilk who’s face I’d frequently see at the events that draw our community together.

The connection I felt to her collective memory while in that room with her family and friends was extraordinarily powerful.

One of the speakers was the normally witty and loquacious Tom (aka Hurl of CRC) who was one of Rachel’s employers. Tom stumbled with his thoughts, nearly breaking down at the podium. You know Hurl is hurting when he’s at a loss for words.

Another of Rachel’s employers (the owner of Chang Mi Thai) also stood up and gave a very moving speech about Rachel that truly captured his feelings.

People kept coming in throughout the lovely ceremony. I wouldn’t be surprised if there were over three hundred people in total.

It was a sad day, but I was filled with pride for our community who were really present during this difficult time.

My continued condolences to Rachel’s friends and family.

There is now another blog where people can post memories and pictures of Rachel.

Leave a Reply

